Blocking Tropical Sunshine

I haven’t blocked a quilt in years – so it was way harder than I remembered. I thought a mini would be easy. Uhhh.. NO!

If a quilt is six feet square the corners are pretty far apart and a tiny error will probably not be noticed. This is only 28″ square. It MUST be perfectly square. It’s staring you right in the face  – and a judge armed with a 12″ square ruler will readily see the tiniest error.

I pinned and unpinned and wet and re-wet and was almost in tears at one point.

I finally came up with the masking tape idea. You must first establish a perfectly square/straight edge to work from. I lay one of the laser lines along one edge of the tape and the other across the quilt.

First I measured across the middles to establish the size – which was 24″ from the outside edge of the narrow purple border. I even checked each row of blocks making sure they were straight. Finally I checked the corners with the 12″ ruler and measured across the diagonals – exactly 34″. It’s drying now.

When it’s perfectly dry I will trim and bind it. Sew on the hanging sleeve and label and start on the next one which is 36″ x 46″.


5 responses to “Blocking Tropical Sunshine

  1. Hey, that’s a good idea! What is it that you have on your table top for a working surface?

  2. Who knew it could be so trying? Masking tape was a great idea!

  3. Fingers crossed this works out, the quilting is spectacular!

  4. Great job figuring out the perfect solution for blocking a small quilt!

  5. Love the masking tape idea! Too simple for me to think of all by myself. Ha, ha! Your little quilt looks terrific!

Leave a Reply

