Japanese x and + quilt block #1

This block is all over the quilt blogs. I first saw it at Mrs. Schmenkman Quilts and I fell in love. Evidently it is in Barbara Brackman’s Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns – but I can’t find it.

Setsuko Inagawa’s quilt from this year’s Tokyo Quilt Festival combined this block with applique – that’s what started the frenzy.

There is even a + and x  flickr group and Amy Badskirt from Sydney has a tutorial. That’s where I got the instructions for this block – thanks Amy!

The block is 7.5 inches finished. I’ll probably make 30 blocks –  5 across and 6 down. It will undoubtedly have a narrow inner border and a pastel floral wider outer border. All the blocks have to be finished and up on the wall before I can decide on the fabric – which of course I will have to order online.

I needed a machine pieced block for a baby quilt – but I didn’t want anything too babyish. First I am selecting a floral fabric in a pastel then choosing 6 fabrics to coordinate –  any quilt with 7 fabrics in each block is going to turn out fine.

I am using freezer paper templates to cut the pieces. Since I need such small bits  for each block – rotary cutting strips would waste too much fabric. It is slow going – but probably faster than hand piecing. Believe me I would be hand piecing this if Linda would make an Inklingo pattern. I haven’t machine pieced a block for ages! I prefer hand piecing.

5 responses to “Japanese x and + quilt block #1

  1. This is AWESOME!!! I’m still so new to all this, I haven’t seen it before, nor do I get around enough on the net to have seen it. Thank you! I can see this in my future…I just love it.

  2. Beautiful combination of fabrics for this block. I’ve been enjoying via internet also, but have so far resisted it…although I don’t know how much longer I will be able too!!

    Deb

  3. This is really cute. I love your color combination.

  4. I love these blocks! I succumbed to them as well! Haven’t posted any photos but I will soon. Mine is basically all scrappy!

  5. oooo Bright and cheery! :D

Leave a Reply

