Drunkard’s Path

This was not meant to happen – I have seven Inklingo projects in the works and should not be starting another one.

It’s not my fault really – blame Cathi of Quilt Obsession. When she posted pictures of  her  Inklingo Drunkard’s Path made using charm squares I suddenly remembered that I had a box of  Kaffe charms that had been languishing in a box on the top shelf of my studio for years.

An idea for my own version popped into my head! I briefly entertained the thought of just adding the Drunkard’s Path to my to do list – but the brightly colored squares were calling my name.

Now that I had a plan I had to decide on the fabrics. I spent hours this weekend arranging and re-arranging the Kaffe charms in sets of two – a light and a dark. Fine – but not great. Then I thought that it would look better with a print and a solid – instead of two prints.

I knew I had a box of solid color fabric samples I’d ordered years ago. I’m not crazy about solids – but I thought I’d give it a try. When lo and behold I opened the box and there was a stack of 5″ square hand dyes that I had completely forgotten about. I had written the color number in the corner of each piece – but the Inklingo pattern fit perfectly with plenty of room to spare – the numbers just get cut off.

This is not the way they will be joined – like most of my quilts I make all the blocks first then arrange them on the design wall before joining them.

The quarter circle and the quarter background are printed on one square – so I get two sets. I have 75 fabric sets which will make 150 little blocks – 36 six inch circle blocks  with a few pieces left over. I have tons more Kaffe charms and can always cut 5″ squares from my hand dye stash if I want to make the quilt larger.

7 responses to “Drunkard’s Path

  1. Carol,
    the colours are lovely and Cathi has me buying more collections than I can work on too. I look fprward to seeing the resulkting quilt

  2. Hola Carol: estos prints están lindos, no parecen algodón, parecen de chalis. Me gustaria saber que significa en inglés Kaffe. Saludos, julita

  3. Beautiful combos. I can’t believe it’s all from fabric your FORGOT you had! At any rate, it’s going to be fabulous.

  4. It is not your fault, Carol. Don’t feel too bad. Cathi gets me into all kinds of trouble too. This is going to be a wonderful quilt, so I think you will end up having to thank her for it. LOL You have a great sense of color.

    • Thanks for the comment Linda – and Monkey too. This Drunkard’s path is going to be so much fun – the little blocks are so cute and portable and stitch up so quickly. It would be the PERFECT pattern to introduce curved stitching to a beginner. I started with the 16 curved piece Alabama Beauty as my first curved piecing project – I would NOT recommend that one to a beginner.

      I was known for my sense of color when I was a digital artist – and I think that has carried over to my quilting. I think that’s why I have so many projects going – soon as I choose the colors for one I want to start another – playing with the fabric combinations is one of my favorite parts of the quilting process.

      I’m selecting colors for yet another project – this time in pastels – so stay tuned!

      Carol

  5. I love those colors. You have a very nice and colorful stash.

  6. These are great combinations. I love the “vintage” K-F prints! Combined with your saturated batiks, you have a stunning winner. Once again, bravo!

Leave a Reply

