Blogger’s Quilt Festival Fall 2010

Got a blog? Got a quilt? Well then head on over to Amy’s Creative Side and join in the fun – you’ve got till November 5th to sign up. There are tons of sponsors and lots of really cool stuff to win! Each quilt shown has a story – so not only do you get to see some amazing quilts from all over the world – you get the “back story” as well.

Here’s my entry – my version of Mary Lou Weidman’s pattern “Angels.” I call it “Guardian Angels God Will Send Thee” from the ancient Welsh song “All Through The Night.”

I bought the pattern a year or two before I began to sew in September of 2008. This was my first large applique – the only appliques I had ever done before tackling this project were two small wall hangings that I designed.  Any sane person would have thought twice before diving in to such a large project – but I like a challenge – so I began.

It was great fun – I loved dressing each angel – picking out the colors of the clothes and hair. I made a LOT of changes to Mary Lou’s pattern as I went along – so in the end I felt the pattern had become more “mine.”

I started my blog specifically to record the making of this quilt – I had no idea anybody would be interested – I just wanted to keep a journal of the project – and online seemed easier than taking photos and writing by hand.

When the top was finally finished in July of 2009 I sent it off to Jackie Kunkle of Canton Village Quilt Works to be quilted. Jackie did a great job.  I entered it in the Jacksonville, Florida 2010 Quit Fest last month and won an honorable mention!!

19 responses to “Blogger’s Quilt Festival Fall 2010

  1. Just found your quilt…it’s just wonderful. Looking forward to the newest festival. Just fallen in love with appliqué, too, late last year! Thanks for sharing and have a great day!

  2. Indeed you did a great work, delicate, beautiful colors matching each other. The Honorable Mention HAD to be yours, hehehehehe. FELICITACIONES again .
    Un abrazo desde el sur de Brasil.

  3. I love the fun and vibrancy of the quilt. I would think the angels have potential to create little worlds of their own :)

  4. It’s beautiful, contrast and vibrant colors you’ve used, are very happy. Congratulations.

  5. What a lot of lovely angels!! A beautiful quilt!

  6. Beautiful quilt. I had the pleasure to take a class with Mary Lou and she is such a fun person. Your hard work on your applique was worth it. Thanks for sharing.

  7. I love your angel quilt!

  8. My goodness, how you works hard to applique all those lovely angels .

    Greetings from France

  9. Very nice, you did a great job!

  10. What a delightful, cheery quilt. You were quite brave to start this as an almost newbie. Great job. Could you post a close up or two? Thanks for sharing.
    Hope you can come see my 1890 antique schoolhouse quilt and
    black/white/pink scrappy miniature quilt entries

  11. Adorable quilt. I love the soft colors on the black background. Really cute quilt. Thanks for putting a smile on my face.

  12. This very wonderful Quilt

  13. I love your quilt. And congratulations on the award. It was well deserved. http://suesjourneys.blogspot.com/

  14. You know how I love that quilt and I am just in awe of your skills! It truly was an honor to work quilt it and so glad that you won a ribbon too!

  15. I love your Angels quilt! And can’t believe you didn’t do much applique before! It looks perfect!

  16. Lovely quilt. I visited Panama for the first time this past New Year and loved it.

  17. What a beautiful quilt!

  18. I remember seeing it when you first completed it (before it was quilted) & I’ve followed your blog ever since! It is so beautiful & I love it that the angels all look a little playful in how they are dressed! Love the one with the handbag in the bottom right corner!
    Of course I also follow you because of my interest in molas & Panama. My Mom (90 now) was born & raised in the Canal Zone & lived there till after WWII. I’ve never been there but I do feel a connection & love to see anything related!

  19. It’s beautiful… I wish I had sen it when it was at jackie’s…. I mentioned you the other day on my ragamuffin post… Your block was the most PERFECTLY machined block I had ever seen…. you do amazing work!

Leave a Reply

