Bodice

Coming along – I still have to finish off the ends of the lace at the back of the neckline – turning under the ends with some tiny hand stitches with #80 thread. Regular sewing thread on this delicate work looks like string –  thick and ugly.

Next step is making the sleeves and then setting them into the tiny armhole. I’ve made doll clothes so I should be able to manage this without too much trouble.

11 responses to “Bodice

  1. If you know the date of the Christening maybe the date can be embroidered into the seam on the hem. The knitting project was a good idea. This way it would be a dated piece. Which would make it more valuable for furture generations. Chris

  2. Gosh, Carol, that sounds just perfect. I once knitted a baby sweater ( for Hazel, Julia Roberts’ daughter…Julia was a customer in my shop) and knitted a little message into the bottom hem. Doing a book of the entire process is just the greatest idea. I love all the self publishing opportunities there are to capture just such moments. I am so inspired by your work.

  3. Will you be putting a tiny, hand embroidered label in this gown?

    • I am going to use my machine alphabet and write a continuous line around the hem of the petticoat – at least that is the plan – I have to do some experimenting first with some scrap fabric. I am also going to make a book of all the blog posts and comments – and have the pictures of the baptism with the baby wearing the gown at the end. my “working title” is “A Christening Gown For Baby Maren”

  4. You are doing a great job! I made my daughter a bib that went from the shoulders to her waist. I had lace sewn to a strip of fabric. I gathered that strip and hand sewed it to the entredeux. Very, VERY, VERY time consuming, but VERY beautiful! I can’t wait to see the finished product!

    • Hi Lisa – thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      I have a book on Pinafore Bibs – now that I am an “expert” at sewing lace to entredeux I will have to make baby Maren one when she gets older. Those bibs are a great idea – the child can wear it over a velvet dress in the winter or a pretty pastel linen or floral print for the summer – and they will last for years. I also have a book on removable collars – the same idea as the bib – but smaller. A wonderful project to showcase your heirloom sewing skills.

  5. I love the look you are doing on this Christening Gown. I make doll clothes and dress antique dolls when I can. The Old World look isn’t easy to accomplish and several don’t appreciate the time involved. You are doing lovely work. Enjoy the process. Chris

    • Oh my goodness Chris – you are the first person to comment who has ever done any heirloom sewing. My blog is mainly about quilting and very few of the quilters even know what I am talking about. The techniques are very definitely not easy to accomplish. I have done some of this type of sewing on doll clothes – but a Christening Gown is really BIG in comparison. I am making it up as I go along – I am not following a pattern. It has been sort of one step forward and two – or three – steps backwards. I am feeling quite confident at this point – I do think it will turn out well in the end.

      Please keep visiting so you can see how this saga ends.

      Thanks so much for your visit and your comment – I really appreciate it.

      Carol

Leave a Reply

