Ohhhh Noooooo!!

I should be screaming and kicking and pulling my hair out right now. But… I am actually eerily  calm after having just discovered that I cannot join the 42 paper pieced hexagons to the Inklingo hexagons (the 42 cream with colored centers and the 4 borders and filler hexes.)

If I had used the traditional English Paper Pieced method I am sure I could have rescued it – but the way I stitched mine (see below) I will have to unpick the top of each and every seam so I can attach it to the Inklingo hexagons with a running stitch. That means having to restitch about half way down on 6 seams per flower. No way – I will just make 42 more.

After all, tomorrow is another day. I will get out my stash of Batiks and start over. I am too far into this to give up now.

3 responses to “Ohhhh Noooooo!!

  1. Pingback: Hexagon quilt tutorial « Postcards From Panama

  2. quiltobsession

    Why do you need to unpick? If the corners line up can you not just start right at the intersection of the corners to add the Inklingo hexagons?

    • Cathi – it’s difficult to explain – but the way I did it I caught the fabric folded over the paper in the seam as I was finishing off the stitching – I paid special attention to anchoring the ending of the seam very firmly. Now it will not open out – enabling me to attach the inklingo pieces.

      Reading what I have just written sounds unintelligible – You’d have to see it to believe it – I will try to take pictures tomorrow to illustrate the problem.

      The bottom line is don’t attempt this without Inklingo :-)

      Carol

Leave a Reply

