A simple sewing project using a small mola

I probably paid 2 or 3 dollars for this “molita.” The addition of a few strips of fabric and you’ve got yourself a small wall hanging or a pillow cover.

One response to “A simple sewing project using a small mola

  1. Wow I just discovered your blog. I love molas. I have two antique ones. I don’t think I have the patience to make one but it is lovely to see your work.
    _____________________________________________________________________________________

    Candy

    I didn’t make the mola. I just added the strips of fabric around the mola.

    My quilt group had a Kuna Indian come to several meetings to teach us how to do the reverse appliqué they use to make their molas. Forget it – it was so difficult I wouldn’t make two square inches for what they charge for a whole mola! I had great respect for their needlework before – but now I really know how difficult it actually is.

    Did you take a look at my collection of molitas and molas on Flickr?

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/pananani/

    I have a lot more traditional molas in my collection that I need to photograph and post.

Leave a Reply

