Continuous bias binding for the octagons

bias binding

I followed the directions on this McCalls Quilting video.  I used a 41″ square and I got a whopping 16 yards of 2 3/4″ bias binding. I don’t need that much to bind my octagons – I will keep the leftover for binding charity quilts.

I practiced on a smaller piece of ugly fabric I didn’t mind wasting if things went wrong. They did.  The second time I got it right.

Just be sure that when you start drawing the lines across the fabric – that the seam is slanting to your left – or to the right – NOT vertical.

Whether the seam is facing right or left  – don’t draw the lines on either of the #2  sides. The #2 sides are the ones you are going to sew together to make the tube.

Here is a little paper mockup of the fabric square cut in half on the bias. This is the way you should position it on your table if you have chosen to have the seam facing left.

bias binding drawing

NOT like this.

mockup

That is is a lot of blah blah blah to tell you DON’T DRAW THE LINES ON THE #2 SIDES. Easy really – I hope I didn’t confuse you.

6 responses to “Continuous bias binding for the octagons

  1. I always found that tube method confusing, no matter how many diagrams of it I saw. Then I found another method to make bias binding and I love it. There’s a YouTube video of the method that can be seen here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsB9cmeHQcs

  2. Forgive me if I’m wrong, but it seems to me that if you turn the bottom 2 triangles 90 degrees counter-clockwise, you would have the exact same arrangement as the top 2 triangles. Love all your quilts, by the way.

  3. I appreciate that you have taken the time to clarify how the pieces should be laid out!

Leave a Reply

