Nope

#1 idea in my last post doesn’t work – it looks like I just threw something together to be done with it. I am leaning towards a pieced border – now to decide what kind of pieced border.

Borders are quilt frames and – in my opinion – can make or break a quilt. But we often don’t pay enough attention to them. We have spent so much time making the quilt top (especially if we piece them by hand) we just want to finish it and move on to the next project.

My Dad used to own a frame shop so I know that you can take a cheap poster or reproduction and frame it very well and it will look fantastic. But an expensive work of art badly framed will never look it’s best.

I agonize over every border I have ever made. But I am always glad that I took the extra time to get it right. I am in no hurry – I don’t know what “right” is at this point – but I will know it when I see it.

6 responses to “Nope

  1. What about this kind of border: http://quiltville.blogspot.com/2012/04/florabunda-flimsy-its-done.html
    I love how it looks and how it turns the corners! It seems like it would echo the squares in the body of the quilt really well and not look “stuck on” : )

  2. I would leave the black as a frame and then bind with either the orange or blue. Whatever you decide, I’m sure it will be beautiful :-)

  3. What about a thin border of the purple print, then pieced around that from some of the other colors? Then I would use the purple for binding. I love brights so that’s what I would consider.

  4. It’s going to be fun to see how you ultimately decide to frame your wonderful quilt!

  5. I agree it does not work. What about a bright blue? it might look nice with the gold.Keep trying you will find the one! Great quilt.

  6. I like to boarder you have on it now! Just the way it is:)

Leave a Reply

